Safeguarding at Landscove

Landscove C of E Primary School is committed to safeguarding all members of the school community and our visitors. The school's procedures operate in line with the Devon and Torbay Safeguarding Children Board and Department of Education statutory guidance. The school is committed to cooperating fully with other agencies on matters relating to child protection. If you have any concerns about the welfare of the students please report them immediately to the designated safeguarding lead. Landscove C of E Primary School Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy is available on the school website and by request at the school office. This policy operates as part of a wider suite of welfare policies.

The lead safeguarding officers in the school are:

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) for our school is Jill Ryder Jill.Ryder@thelink.academy

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead for our school is LukeAnsermoz LukeAnsermoz@thelink.academy
Contact Telephone Number for any Safeguarding concerns 01803 762656
If any member of staff is concerned about a pupil's well-being, emotional or physical, and/or has worries about their safety either from their own or others’ actions (others include adults and young people in and out of school)

The school procedure is as follows:

  • Discuss concerns with the School Designated Safeguarding Lead or Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (if DSL not on site)
  • Concerns must be reported as soon as possible. It is much better to share a concern or worry than to keep it to yourself.
  • The School DSL will make a decision as to whether outside agencies should be involved. This will usually be following advice from the Child Protection Threshold Team (CYPS)
  • Write down as soon as possible what the pupil has told you, including the time, date, and names of other people involved.
  • Confidentiality should never be promised, you have a legal obligation to share any concerns that involve a child being harmed or at risk of harm
  • The pupil's welfare is paramount.
  • If the concern relates to the conduct of another member of staff this must be reported to the Executive Headteacher.
Contact list for other DSL's within our Trust.

Bearnes - Tracy Hoare 01626 353980

Broadhempston - Jill Ryder 01803 812689 

Cheriton Bishop – Peter Halford 01647 24817

Diptford – Holly Edgington 01548 821352

Drakes - Pete Halford 01395 443871

Harbertonford – Anne Burns 01803 732352

Hennock - Sarah Reddington 01626 833233

Ilsington – Sam McCarthy-Patmore 01364 661208

Morchard Bishop - Sam Butler 01363 877328

Moretonhampstead – Alex Waterman 01647 440482

Otterton - Anne Pelosi 01395 568326

Sparkwell - Francesca McLoughlin 01752 878855

Stoke Gabriel – Alice Eeles 01803 782469

Tedburn St Mary – Andy Keay 01647 61338

Widecombe – Anthony Arnold 01364 621261

Wolborough - Tracy Hoare 01626 202050

Yeoford – Chris Martin 01363 84234

Should the above be unavailable for any reason, please contact one of the other DSL’s within our Trust:-



The Designated Safeguarding Governor is Nanya Coles Nanya.Coles@thelink.academy

Devon County Council Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) can be reached on 01392 384964.


Remember - Never feel worried to share a concern.
It is always better to share a concern and find out later that there was nothing to worry about than not to share a concern and find out later that a child has suffered.


Useful Links: